Chicken with a grand flair

From Rita:

I must admit this recipe was given to me by my good friend Flo.  While helping her with something early one morning she happened to mention that she loved this recipe (I re-named it), and that she had not made it for a long time and actually sounded like she missed it.  So I made her dig it out of the archives,  jotted it down and went home and made it right away….are you surprised?  The finish to this dish scared me a bit but I am a gutsy cook and figured ..”what the heck is the worse thing that can happen..it gets thrown out and I learn something from the experience!”  Learning from my experiences is something I have always done.  I try never to look at anything like I failed, but that I am learning all the time and growing from every single experience.  I remember one Friday morning I made three, yes three different things, each of which I did not care for and each of which I promptly put down the garbage disposal!!!!.   So,  know that it happens to all of us at some point…just toss it out and keep on trying.

  • 3 Tbls. olive oil
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3 pounds cut up chicken pieces, I removed the skin to save calories.
  • 1 -large sweet onion, sliced
  • 2 bell peppers cleaned and cut into medium size chunks.  One red, one green. I used red and yellow as I do not love green pepper.
  • 1-2  8 oz. box white mushrooms, cleaned and chopped in half
  • 6-8 plum tomatoes chunked
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 nip of Grand Marnier

In a large, fairly deep fry pan,  put the oil in and place over medium-high heat.  Wait for oil to heat up a bit.  While waiting wash chicken and dredge through the flour, shaking off any excess.  Cook chicken till golden brown on each side and remove from pan and keep warm.  Add the onion, peppers, mushrooms,tomatoes and chicken broth..bring to a boil and then reduce to medium heat, cover and cook for about 10-12 minutes, stirring periodically.  Remove the cover, add the chicken back into the pan and cook uncovered for another 30 minutes or so, turning the chicken a couple of times till the chicken is done.  I made sure my chicken pieces were not really large and all about the same size.  Actually I purchased  split breasts and cut them in half sideways.  Once the chicken is done,  pour  the Grand Marnier nip all over the top and stir gently to mix well.  Put cover back on and wait 5 minutes.  Serve with pasta, couscous, brown rice or spaghetti squash if you are really calorie conscious and by all means ENJOY!

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Dinners. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

