Hearty Chicken Soup


From Natalie
: Winter has finally arrived in the northeast and it is time for some hot soup!  My father-in-law had been craving chicken soup so I thought I would indulge him.  I had roasted an 8 pound chicken for a dinner party with my cousin Jean and her boyfriend Doug and had plenty left over for a terrific soup.

Ingredients:

  • I had roasted the chicken topped with Crazy salt, pepper and garlic powder.  After dinner I took all the remaining chicken off the bones, about 1 pound.
  • Minor’s chicken base (I find it at BJ’s Wholesale Club)
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice (This was also leftover from dinner.  I had cooked this with chicken broth instead of water.)
  • 1 cup raw baby carrots
  • 3 stalks of celery, sliced
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1 can of white beans
  • 1 package of frozen peas (10 oz. package)
  • 1 cup of Orzo (small pasta)

The directions on the Minor’s chicken base says 1 Tablespoon with 1 quart of boiling water.  I love this base but it is a little salty, so you may want to start light and add more to taste.  I boiled about 3 quarts of water and added about 1 and 1/2 Tablespoons of Minor’s chicken base.  Dissolve the base in the water. (The rice, also having been cooked with the chicken base, added even more taste, so I went light on the base.)

Put the chicken and all the vegetables in the pot (as you can see, I used some fresh, some canned and some frozen vegetables.  They all work fine.  The fresh vegetables went into the pot raw.  I did cook the frozen peas and then added them to the pot.)

Add the rice and Orzo (if you are really watching the carbs, you can use just one of these).  I added the Orzo uncooked and it cooked while the soup simmered.

Simmer for about 1 hour.  Serve with warm rolls for a hearty meal. Enjoy!

Posted on January 10, 2012, in Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

