Chicken Liver Pate

From Krisann:

First let me say that I am a big fan of chicken livers.  As a child, I was introduced to chicken livers  by my father.   He would simply season them and saute, then we would enjoy.  I had never made pate before and was wanting to experiment.  I was amazed at how easy this was to make.  I brought this to a dinner party and most people did enjoy it, much to my surprise my husband John really enjoyed the pate and he is not a big fan of chicken livers.  I served the pate with toasted french bread slices, capers, chopped hard boiled eggs, and finely chopped shallots.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb  chicken livers
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 2 large onions, sliced thinly (I use vidalia)
  • 1 tsp  thyme (I like to use fresh)
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup cognac
  • Loaf french bread

Sautee the onions in the butter, until soft.  Add the livers and spices and cook for 8 minutes.  Add the cognac. Simmer for another minute.  Put all ingredients in food processor, or blender until creamy.  Place in serving dish and chill.  Slice french bread into thin slices and spray with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and bake in oven until toasted.

 

Posted on September 9, 2011, in Appetizers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

